It is the time of year to make New Year’s Resolutions. Most people make several and by the end of the week have slipped back into their old habits. I feel that I have gained enough age and experience to have the solution to the “breaking resolutions” problem. I don’t make any.

Once upon a time I would resolve to lose weight, stop smoking, stop yelling at the kids, stop letting certain family members get under my skin. . . the list could go on, but you get the idea.

I’ve come to the realization that my weight goes up and down in spite of what I want. . . my body has its own ideas about those things. I’ll probably stop smoking when I’m completely too broke to buy them, or they pry my last one from my cold dead fingers. I stopped yelling at the kids, they are adults and on their own. No need to yell at them anymore; it never did any good anyway. The family members who used to get under my skin have crossed the Veil to a better place. Sometimes I miss them and the stupid arguments that would swirl around them. But, time passes.

I guess that’s what I’ve learned as one of the primary lessons of life. . . time passes and all things flow away from us, toward us or change in some way. It doesn’t matter what we do or don’t do. At times change occurs so slowly and in such tiny increments that we don’t notice until later. Sometimes its quick and drastic and shakes us to our core. Change is the only constant, the only thing that never changes.

So I haven’t made any resolutions. I will just continue to try to be “me” and walk my path to whatever the Goddess has in store for me. She wrote the play, I’m just an actress on the stage.

