I was talking to a friend of mine who needed diapers. Money is tight for all of us and the cost of disposable diapers just keeps going up, like everything else.

The conversation set me to thinking (not always a good thing) about when I had my babies and diapers. I have not been to a baby shower in a long time, but one thing I got for my first-born was a package of disposable diapers. It was the only package of disposable diapers I used with her.

Back in the olden-days when I had my babies we still mainly used cloth diapers. We had those super neat little rubber panties that went over the diapers to prevent leaks. They could also cause severe diaper rash, and little diaper-rash rings around the baby’s upper thighs if you let the elastic leg band get soaked with urine. We new mothers learned soon enough that babies had to be changed often and every part of their apparel kept dry to prevent the rash and the tears that accompanied it.

The diapers I used on my first-born were once again used with the next child. Remnants of the original supply were even used some years later upon the birth of the third. (Hey, I was a fertile heifer.) When my fourth and last baby was born, (how many did you think I had?) all the cloth diapers had been worn out and used up. It was then that I made the switch to disposables. I had an excuse however; I had a job and was working un-Godly hours.

Worn out cloth diapers were extremely useful items to have in a household. When worn to the point of being useless on the baby’s bottom they made great cleaning and polishing cloths for furniture. They were super car washing rags. Their absorbency was excellent for cleaning up the spills that are inevitable with toddlers. The list could go on and on.

With the economy in a spiral and the cash-crunch hitting us all; maybe it is time to revisit cloth diapers. You can even make them yourself. My mother lived through the Great Depression, and bore 3 babies during that time period. She told me stories of tearing up old sheets to make diapers. I never had to go to those lengths, but it goes to show that in hard times, people learn to be resourceful.

Now-a-days, young mothers only seem to know about disposable diapers. Use them once and toss in the trash. From baby’s bottom, to trash can, to landfill in a matter of days. Cloth diapers could still be around a decade later, filling some other roll; remaining useful. While the diaper pail and the stinky job of cleaning and washing diapers can be awful, the end result has its upside. In addition, you only have to cough up the cash once, not every few days.

I’m glad my “diapering days” are behind me. If I did have a baby now, I’d be trying to find cloth diapers, do the extra work involved, and save the money. Of course, you all know I’m old fashioned. I guess it just goes with the territory.

